About MO Marijuana
Missouri Regulated Cannabis Market Overview
Type of program: Medical only
Missouri residents resoundingly approved ballot measure Amendment 2, effectively legalizing medical marijuana in November of 2018. The constitutional amendment allows qualifying patients to purchase an allotted amount of marijuana per month as determined by lawmakers in the state.
Medical cannabis sales are taxed at 4 percent, with funds appropriated for military veteran programs.
Some qualifying conditions are recommended, however medical marijuana could be prescribed for any “chronic, debilitating, or other medical condition” for which a physician determines there would be a benefit, as well as for any terminal illness.
Missouri medical marijuana dispensaries
October 17, 2020, saw the opening of the first medical marijuana dispensary in Missouri. By the end of 2020, 192 dispensaries were awarded licenses and 37 more Missouri dispensaries opened on February 25th, 2021. By the end of 2021, all 192 state-licensed dispensaries must be fully operational or risk losing their licenses.
To buy medical cannabis products at Missouri medical marijuana dispensaries, the patient must show a valid Missouri medical marijuana card.
Marijuana Deliveries RX: Available
Currently, patients or caregivers must go to a Missouri medical marijuana dispensary to purchase their medicine or order delivery from participating cannabis stores.
Soon, medical marijuana patients in Missouri are going to be able to get their medicine delivered to their homes.
Cannabis delivery platforms have already teamed up with several Missouri dispensaries to launch medical marijuana delivery services in Missouri.
Missouri medical marijuana dispensaries are permitted to sell marijuana flower, cannabis-infused edibles, concentrates, tinctures, lotions, vapes, and more.
Purchase and possession limits
Qualifying Missouri medical marijuana patients may purchase and possess up to four ounces of marijuana per 30 day period.
The Department of Health may set limits on the amount of marijuana possessed, “provided that the limit is not less than a 60 days supply.”
For some qualifying patients requiring higher amounts of medical marijuana, two Alternative Physician Certification Forms must be filled out and submitted. If approved, those patients will have the legal right to purchase and possess up to 8 ounces of medical marijuana per month. The state of Missouri requires that two separate physicians must complete the forms, listing the same qualifying medical conditions suffered by the patient.
Missouri Marijuana Laws
Marijuana-related DUI laws in Missouri
Penalties for a first offense marijuana-related DUI (Class B Misdemeanor) in the state of Missouri MO are as follows
- A prison term of no more than 6 months.
- Compulsory participation in, and successful completion of, a substance abuse traffic offender program.
- A mandatory 30-day license suspension.
In the state of Missouri, marijuana consumption is prohibited in the workplace or during work hours. Missouri medical marijuana laws do not officially address workplace drug testing or change drug testing policies that may have existed before the law passed. This means that an employer may legally conduct drug testing for employees and job candidates.
Social consumption: prohibited
At present there are no social medical marijuana consumption lounges in the state of Missouri.
Public consumption: prohibited
Even if you are a medical marijuana patient, the use of marijuana in public spaces or places of business in Missouri is illegal.
Home cultivation: prohibited
The state of Missouri allows qualifying medical marijuana patients the right to grow up to six flowering plants, six non-flowering plants, and six clones under 14 inches in height.
Patients wishing to grow medical marijuana in Missouri must first obtain an ID card from the Department of Health. There is an additional $100 fee to cultivate medical marijuana for personal use.
All plants must be grown in a closed, locked facility.
If a landlord includes the no-smoking policy in the lease or rental agreement, the landlord may legally evict a tenant who consumes medical marijuana on their property. The landlords’ options are not so clear — at least when it comes to edibles and other non-smokable forms of medical marijuana — if the no-smoking policy is part of the rental’s rules and regulations instead of part of the actual lease or rental agreement.
Medical marijuana and gun rights in Missouri
If a resident of Missouri owns a firearm and is a qualifying medical marijuana patient, those individuals should be aware that they are in direct violation of Federal law, as marijuana is still categorized as a Schedule I Controlled Substance.
At present, however, the state will not prohibit firearm ownership to individuals in the possession of a Missouri medical marijuana card, nor will the patient be reported. The patient/gun owner must proceed at their own risk.
Missouri hemp and CBD laws
The state of Missouri, in response to the updated Federal guidelines surrounding hemp-derived CBD products, amended its hemp cultivation laws and regulatory rules. Many forms of CBD-infused products can be purchased in shops throughout the state including CBD oil, lotions, tinctures, and CBD edibles and beverages.
Missouri residents can also buy CBD online.
Missouri medical marijuana information
- How to Apply For a Missouri Medical Marijuana Card
- Application Checklist
- Physician Certification Form (Standard)
- Physician Certification Form (Alternative Amount)
- Parental/Legal Guardian Form
- Patient Authorization
- Gun Ownership/Purchase for Card Holders
- Home Cultivation
- Past Conviction for Possession
- Physician Certification
- Agent ID Information
- Facility Information
- News Releases
- Data and Reports
- Rules and Law
- Facility Licensing and Compliance
- Patient Cultivation Shared Space Infographic
- Renewal Application Checklist
- Application Video Guides
- How-To Download Patient/Caregiver ID Cards
- Missouri Marijuana Equivalency Units (MMEs) #203
- Medical Marijuana in Missouri Patient Information Booklet #205
- Ballot to Implementation: A Program’s Journey
Missouri medical marijuana contacts
Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
PO Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
Toll-Free Access Line: 866-219-0165
(8:30 am – 3:30 pm CST Tuesday-Thursday)
Email for general inquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org
Call Center Hours of Operation: 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. Central, Tuesday – Thursday