Medical Marijuana Cards | Qualifying Conditions
Missouri Medical Marijuana Cards
MO – A Missouri medical marijuana card, or Med Card is a state issued identification card that enables patients that have been certified by a doctor to purchase medical marijuana products from legal cannabis dispensaries. Getting a Missouri marijuana card also provides access to possess, and cultivate cannabis for medicinal use in Missouri. There are three different types of medical marijuana ID cards:
Qualifying Patient Card – $25 Cost
Primary Caregiver Card – $25 Cost
Patient Cultivation Card – $100 Cost
How to get a Missouri Medical Marijuana Card [Video]
Steps to Getting Your Medical Card
Applications recently became available in early June 2019. In addition to what it costs you to see your doctor, there’s an application fee of $25. Your insurance might cover the doctor’s visit but will not cover the cost of the card nor the cost of medical cannabis CBD and THC products.
What does the application process include?
Basic personal information
Proof of residency (i.e. driver’s licence or utility bill)
Nonrefundable $25 application fee
Within 30 days of applying, you should receive your medical marijuana card in the mail.
Are you ready to get started?
For potential medical marijuana patients we make it easy to connect with a recommending doctor near you.
You can fill out the form below to get a medical marijuana card in Missouri. A doctor’s office will contact you to schedule an appointment and see if you qualify. Legal Residents Only.
Patient Registration Form
How to Qualify for the Missouri Medical Marijuana Program
Missouri – Amendment 2, a constitutional amendment has passed allowing medical marijuana. Let’s get into some detail related to qualifying conditions and how to get a medical marijuana card in Missouri. To begin with, there’s no sense in continuing if you don’t qualify for Missouri’s medical marijuana program.
Qualifying Debilitating Conditions
Missouri Medical Marijuana Official Qualifying Conditions List
Here’s a list of medical conditions which potentially qualify Missourians to obtain a medical marijuana card from the state.
Although there is a list of qualifying conditions below, the amendment created a caveat that allows Doctors in their professional judgement to recommend medical marijuana for any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition.
Alzheimer’s disease (agitation related to)
Any terminal illness
HIV/AIDS or cachexia or wasting syndrome
***Any “other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition” that may be alleviated by marijuana “in the professional judgment of a physician”
Missouri Medical Marijuana Patient Possession Limits
According to Amendment 2, Missouri medical marijuana patients and their registered caregivers are permitted to buy up to four ounces of cannabis from Missouri dispensaries within a 30-day period. You can find the Missouri Marijuana Laws and Penalties here.
Home grow is allowed as well to medcard patients and their caregivers. Missouri medical marijuana patients are permitted to grow up to six mature plants.
Under Missouri medical marijuana laws a patient may appoint a caregiver to procure or grow and to administer medical marijuana. Caregivers must be at least 21 years of age and must register with the Department of Health. Caregivers are not allowed to serve more than three patients.
Missouri Medical Marijuana Links
Below are helpful links to official government web pages related to the Missouri medical marijuana program.
- Facility Information
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Hemp (Department of Agriculture)
- News Releases
- Patient Information
- Physician Information
- Reports and Data
- Rules and Law
Missouri Medical Marijuana Contact Information
- Mailing address – Section for Medical Marijuana Regulation
PO Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
- Phone – Toll-Free Access Line: 866-219-0165 (8:30 am – 3:30 pm CST Monday-Friday)
- Email – [email protected].